top of page

The STEM Fellows program is an annual cohort of Southeast Tennessee educators from across the region who engage in a year of professional development activities focused on STEM best practices. These teachers become STEM leaders for their schools and districts.  Over the course of the year, members of the cohort receive training and coaching on best practices in problem-based learning, inquiry teaching, cross-curriculum integration and technology integration.

Working with leaders from business and post-secondary education, the fellows develop STEM lessons and projects for immediate implementation in the classroom. Exposure to innovative instructional strategies and classroom tools provides them with resources and ideas for their students and fellow colleagues.


  • Attend the 3 full-days of summer professional development (June 21-23 2023)

  • Attend 4 full-day workshops during the school year (dates TBD)

  • Complete a job shadow with a regional STEM business during the Fall semester

  • Lead a STEM-focused community project (e.g. Family STEM Night, partnership event, etc)



  • STEM Fellows receive a stipend to recognize their time and dedication to learning

  • Travel assistance is available to our regional STEM Fellows traveling further than 60 miles

  • Access to curricular materials, resources, and supplies

  • Ongoing coaching and support from Innovation Hub and other STEM Fellows

  • Alumni gain access to the STEM Fellows Alumni Network



STEM Fellows alumni network.png

Questions?  Contact Cliff Brittingham at or 423.648.4448

Congratulations to PEF STEM Fellows 10.0 (2022-2023)

  • Joyce Baker, Tyner Academy

  • Kayla Bowman, Daisy Elementary School

  • Mandy Carter, Lookout Valley Elementary School

  • Sarah Conrad,  Waterville Community Elementary 

  • Robbie Dillard, Orchard Knob Middle School

  • Ayana Gustus, Tyner Middle Academy

  • Laycica Harjes, CSAS, Brown Middle, & LVMHS

  • Alden Hawkins, Thrasher Elementary

  • Natasha Hennessey, Brown Academy

  • Emily Hurst, HCS Innovation Team

  • Diane Johnson, East Lake Academy

  • Patti Jones, East Lake Academy

  • Olivia Kane, STEM School Chattanooga

  • Ginger King, Ooltewah Middle School

  • Chris Kizziah, Red Bank Middle School

  • Abby Klett, Dalewood Middle, CCA, & LVMHS

  • Ashley Lepard, East Side Elementary

  • Antonia Luttrell, Spring Creek Elementary

  • Ricky McEvoy, Thrasher Elementary

  • Amanda Panter, Red Bank High School

  • Ronda Phillips, Donald P. Yates Primary

  • Emily Rossman, Harrison Elementary

  • Stephanie Smith, Hixson Middle

  • Brooke Smith, East Brainerd Elementary

  • Lori Spencer, Brainerd High School

  • Bruce Stubblefield, Ooltewah High School

  • Traves Welch, East Lake Academy of Fine Arts

  • Jeanette Yann, Spring Creek Elementary

Special Thanks to our STEM Fellows Partners

HCS Logo_H_RGB.png
bottom of page